was successfully added to your cart.

PSi Showdown Meet the All Stars

By August 7, 2017Uncategorized

PSi Showdown

Meet the All Stars

This year the PSi All Stars Series, which is played on the back of the PSi Nationals, will be a little bit different and a lot more exciting. For the first time ever, the All-Star Series will now be the PSi Showdown and will feature the South African BlitzStoks, the International All-Stars and the World All-Stars.

Each team will play each other once with a total of 3 matches on the night. Games will be 20 minutes one way. After the three matches the top two teams will compete in a three-man shootout to determine the winner.

The International All Stars will once again be led by Netherlands Indoor Hockey World Cup captain Robert Tigges, a massive favourite of every kid at PSi. Tigges will be joined by his gold medal winning compatriots and PSi regulars Laurens Goedegebuure, Sjoerd de Wert, Teun Rohof and Nicki Leijs. The incredibly prodigiously talented Benni Wess from Germany will make his third appearance for the All Stars. The last two members who complete the side both featured for the International All Stars in 2015 at Durban and make their eagerly anticipated return to the side. Spaniard Andreu Enrich, who is a massive hit with the ladies, and Zimbabwean captain Tendayi Maredza.

Robert Tigges shared his excitement with us “I freaking love PSi because of the electric atmosphere during the entire event! This is a vibe which you normally only find at major events like the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup, which, If you are lucky enough you will get to experience once or twice in a lifetime! That’s how special PSi is!”

This year PSi introduce a World All Stars team as well featuring five different nationalities from four different continents! Siyabonga Martins is a regular face to PSi fans as he has previously featured for the International and African All Stars and is joined by the African goalkeeper of the tournament at the AFCON in DJ Strauss, his countryman. From Africa we move to Europe where Rio Olympian and all time record caps holder for Ireland Ronan Gormley is joined by his compatriot Ross Canning, who is one of the most exciting prospects in Irish indoor Hockey. Viktor Lockwood from France is an exciting prospect for their hockey and will also be joined by a national team mate Mickael Kempf.

The South American continent will also be represented as Joaquin Gonzalez from Argentina will pull on the World All Stars jersey in Cape Town. Gonzalez captained Argentina at the recent Indoor Pan American Cup in Guyana where the team finished second. Completing the continental collection is Australia’s indoor hero Matthew Hotchkis. The Australian played in his third indoor Hockey World Cup in 2015 in Leipzig and will bring a stirring new dimension to PSi.

“I am super excited to be part of PSi this year and I am looking forward to the thrills, spills and entertainment that indoor hockey provides. I am also extremely pumped to do some coaching with the kids and meet as much of the crowd as possible!” shared an excited Hotchkis.

A tournament of this nature requires some great backing and we are very thankful to Tsogo Sun, Tayla Sportswear, Belgotex Sport, HG Travelling service and Greenfields. The PSi Showdowns will incredibly be one of the most representative gathering of players outside of the Indoor Hockey World Cup as 10 different countries will be represented across the three teams.

Written for PSi by Tyron Barnard

The International All Stars (PSi caps in brackets)

Laurens Goedegebuure – Netherlands (14)
Robert Tigges – Netherlands (14)
Benni Wess – Germany (7)
Sjoerd de Wert – Netherlands (11)
Teun Rohof – Netherlands (11)
Tendayi Maredza – Zimbabwe (4)
Nicki Leijs – Netherlands (7)
Andreu Enrich – Spain (4)

The World All Stars

Ronan Gormley – Ireland
Matthew Hotchkis – Australia
Ross Canning – Ireland
Siyabonga Martins – Namibia
Viktor Lockwood – France
DJ Strauss – Namibia
Joaquin Gonzalez – Argentina
Mickael Kempf – France